Reunion

“Man, nothing leaves, and nothing more…”
The torn, fragmented mentor breathes; he sows despair.
His fat sticky fingers reach for
The winter drink; the undivided, dumb affair.

He, the thief, pours himself a drink,
After which he slides it across the prim table.
That’s unusual, so I think;
“Well goddamn, is this shyness, is he unable?”

And we talk, laugh for hours on end
In the empty hallways, near sharp remains of glass.
The creaking swings, where we’d pretend…
Those times, how we danced, how we skipped art class…

Our love’s long day draws to an end.
And undivided, undivided the crook laughs.
Life, time; he used to be my friend.
I’m still afraid of that man in the photographs.

“That thief, can he live with himself?”
“That man admits he feels good after being bad!”
“Don’t say that! Leave that on the shelf!”
I’ll never be like him, I won’t, I swear, I’m glad.

In that old school where I found out
What lies hidden in the black depths of my small mind
Where I met fear, where I met doubt
That’s where I lost it,… that’s where I lost humankind…

3 comments

Leave a comment